How do I ignore/exclude directories that have already been checked in?

enjay

Recently installed 5.0.44.506 on OS X w/ PostgreSQL backend.

I'm new to PlasticSCM but have been using git for some time.

I started a new Unity project, but mistakenly didn't configure the 'Library' directory to be ignored. So it, and all its contents, got checked in to the repo. Now, knowing that you're not supposed to do that, I'm trying to exclude it. In git, I would simply update the .gitignore file and it would all go away. I've tried making an ignore.conf in the project's root but nothing seems to happen.

I'm assuming that you can ignore/exclude files once they've been added to a project. It can't be a one-way street. Help is appreciated.

Also, I've noticed that I can't lock files exclusively either? Can this not be done through the GUI?

Hi,

"ignore.conf" file only affects files that are not under version control. You can ignore files that you have as "Private" in your workspace. This way they will not checked into your repository.

Once you have a file as controlled (commited to the repository), if you want to remove it from version control: Right click --> Delete --> don´t delete items on disk.  After that, your file will appear as private in your workspace and you will be able to add it to the ignore list.

Besides ignore list, Plastic also has a cloaked list. This list, allows you to skip downloading those cloaked files every time you switch the workspace to a different branch or do an update of the workspace.

You can find more information about ignore list and cloaked list here:  http://plasticscm.com/guides/gui/main.shtml

Plastic also allows exclusive locking. Please review this information: http://www.plasticscm.com/whats-new/checkout.aspx

Regards,

Carlos

• 1 year later...
  • 2 years later...