Team Cooperation: help on using PlasticSCM with Unity for a tiny team

NeatWolf

Hi everyone!

I'm working on contract in a small team (4 persons includind the CEO), 2 of which should collaborate on the same project.

By contract, I asked to have access to a Unity Asset Server.

The CEO, which has no knowledge about Unity, somehow forced us to use PlasticSCM since he or someone from his companies probably insisted on using it because had some experience, but not with Unity.

He also said that "Using a legacy old tool has no sense when we can use better alternatives".

Well, I have no experience in repositories, project management and so on, while them have no experience with using PlasticSCM in Unity. And no experience with Unity at all actually.

Now, trying to begin start using PlasticSCM, but since the deadlines aren't too far (February), I don't want to end up with messing my project and my work because I took the wrong decisions.

PlasticSCM seems to be built on the Branch per Task approach. This means that even if 2 persons do have actually access to the project, I should be branching for each task, and HOPING the merge will work.

I think this is a huge overhead. The other person is the main "artist" of the team, so he's the game designer, art director, level designer, etc.. so he should basically only access the scenes and build them with the prefabs and tools I will be developing.

Also, he's probably going to use Glueon.

So, I, the only programmer, should continuously be branching back and forward from the main branch, and let the artist work on the main branch exclusively.

Shouldn't we use a single branch? This seems to overcomplicate things for 2 persons only

We're both using Unity v5.4.2f2 with Personal Edition, even if we could transition to Plus soon.