Git Fetch/Pull equivalent

Eugeny

I'm new to Plastic.

I just installed PlasticSCM server on our work server.

Installed PlasticSCM client on my computer and connected it to remote server.

Created new repo and made some changes to it.

When i checkin, my changes goes straight to remote server. And i expext, commit -> push workflow like in GIT.

PlasticSCM supports both central and distributed workflows (that from docs). But i cann't find how to setup simple distributed workflow and i cann't find description in documentation.

I used to SourceTree/Bitbucket combination. I just checkout from central repository and GIT automatically creates local repo and working directory. Push button are just right to Commit button.

What is the simpliest way to do the same in PlasticSCM?

Hi Eugeny,

Thanks for giving us a chance to be your version control :-)

Ok, let's go to your question: in Plastic you can work fully distributed, like Git, but you DO need a local server installed. Don't panic. It is a super light server that will eat only like 100MB RAM at most, only to serve you, listening locally.

Then, how do you work distributed?

* If you work connected to localhost:8087 (port configurable), you are in local. Then you create local repos, workspaces to the local repos, checkin locally, then push/pull to the remote.

* If you work connected to the remote central server (which can happen just in a different workspace), you do direct checkin.

Let me know if it is now clear for you. I mean, it is all about having a local server. It installs in seconds and you won't have to worry about it. And you don't need sql server or anything. It defaults to our storage called Jet, which is by far the fastest :)

pablo

Hi, psantosl

Yes, i understand that much. I dont understand, what steps i need to do to get remote repository that i already created to my local server, so that i can create workspace from local repo.

I read that tutorial