Jump to content

ProjectSettings always being marked as Changed


Recommended Posts

Hi there!

I'm just having a minor, recurring issue with my Unity scenes and Plastic.
The ProjectSettings\ProjectSettings.asset file is always being marked as Changed, and appears with a black tick next to it in Gluon, whenever I open and close a Unity project.
Then when I diff the workspace contents, I get told the Files are identical (even with the Comparison Method as Recognize all), so I am constantly Undo'ing this file to avoid needless commits.

Any suggestions on something I may have incorrectly set?

Cheers

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @Fleer,

Unity is probably just changing the time stamp of the file but its content remains unchanged.

I recommend you to use the following preference. Open the pending changes view, click options.

image.png

Enable the "Check the content to determine files as changed, not only timestamp." option.

image.png

This will vary the way a file is recognized as changed. The option explanation can't say it better :)

Hope it helps!

Link to post
Share on other sites

I've dug around a bit, and noticed that this setting appears to be located in the client.config file, which doesn't appear to be globally set-able.

Is there a plan to include more global config files? This setting in particular has led to a bit of 'noise' within our commit history, and it would be good to set it for all clients.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

I've been running some tests and this setting is affecting both Plastic GUI and Gluon. Just remember to re-open the GUIs when editing it. You can also manually edit the "client.conf"
...

  <CheckFileContentForChanged>no</CheckFileContentForChanged>

...

Regards,

Carlos.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi again,

I've experienced some weirdness again!
I have a ProjectSettings.asset file that is appearing in my changelist, but is identical to its predecessor.
http://content.invisioncic.com/r155069/monthly_2018_11/image.png.496ebae7f18ac932683134b2fe1ef0d4.png

I've checked my client.conf file in my AppData and can see the following setting:

  <CheckFileContentForChanged>yes</CheckFileContentForChanged>

I also double checked the comparison type as Recognize All just in case there were different line endings etc.

I'm probably going to have to move on and lose the current state of my work pretty soon, but let me know what extra details I can provide to assist in repro.

image.png

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Carlos,

Refreshing did not help (just a reminder that I'm experiencing this with mainly Gluon usage). I would undo changes, and during the day the file would constantly re-appear in the pending changes (I couldn't work out what I was doing in Unity to trigger it).

And yes, the preferences panel in Plastic GUI shows it enabled. And I am constantly closing and opening the GUIs
image.thumb.png.fa0afaa398f72f52dd13555133b7c6c8.png

Cheers

Paul

Link to post
Share on other sites

Could you include the following setting in your "C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\plastic4\client.conf" file?

...

<CheckRevisionMetadataSize>no</CheckRevisionMetadataSize>

...

FInally, restart the Plastic GUI and check if the file still appears as changed.

Regards,

Carlos.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Carlos,

Thanks for the reply.

Unfortunately the problem seems to be intermittent; I had to undo the changes for a couple of days, but now the file no longer appears as changed.
Would you prefer I added the setting and see if it reoccurred, or wait until it reoccurs and then add the setting?

Cheers

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1 month later...

Hello again!

I've had a re-occurrence!
@calbzam I added the 'CheckRevisionMetadataSize' line to my local client.conf file, and the file remained marked as changed and checked out (in both Plastic and Gluon).

I'm not sure if it's related, but we recently upgraded the Unity version of the project - not sure if that's helpful or not 🤔

Let me know if there's any more tests you'd like me to try while I still have the opportunity.

Cheers

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Upgrading Unity shouldn't be relevant for this issue. If you manually edit the timestamp for a file in your workpace, does it appear as changed when you refresh the "Pending Changes" view?

Let's try manually reproduce it.

If the file also appers as checked out is because the plugin (or you) has explicitly performed this operation.

Carlos.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...