Jump to content

Can't get rid of a pending merge link


Recommended Posts

Hi,

 

Yes, this is pretty normal: you have pending changes in your workspace, and one of the pending changes is a merge link. If you want to undo everything, undo the changes. Warning: you will loose the changes!

It is not a good idea to switch to different branches with pending changes, that's why it is forbidden by default (you had to change a setting to allow you to switch branch with changes, it is only meant for really advanced users, because the usual is to run into trouble).

So, what do you want to do with these changes?

Link to post
Share on other sites

i wanted to undo whatever was done, i couldn't cancel the merge.  the solution was to go into the .plastic folder and delete plasticmerge file.

 

This is a bug btw, not expected behavior.  i merged, and then suddenly was able to switch branches without receiving the typical unfilled branch entry

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 months later...

I'm having a similar issue:

In UE 4.19 I committed changes but got an general error, went to Plastic SCM to checkin and was told that a merge was needed (on files that I had not checked out and were not in the pending changes list).  I set merge to revert to source on all the proposed merge files and was left with a "pending merge link" in Pending Changes.  It says that the pending merge links will be commited when I checkin my changes or undo my changes.  However, when I try to checkin, I get an error that I cannot checkin due to the pending merge link and I don't want to undo - I'll lose 4 hours of work! 

I'm going to copy the files out of the project and try undoing.  This is incredibly frustrating.

-Donald

Link to post
Share on other sites

In the previous comments, the user seemed to have switched to different branches with pending changes, but I guess this is not your case, right? 

Quote

.  I set merge to revert to source on all the proposed merge files and was left with a "pending merge link" in Pending Changes.  It says that the pending merge links will be commited when I checkin my changes or undo my changes.  However, when I try to checkin, I get an error that I cannot checkin due to the pending merge link and I don't want to undo - I'll lose 4 hours of work! 

I guess you can't checkin because the merge hasn't been fully processed. If you try to re-run the merge again from the branch explorer, aren't still some merge conflicts to process?

Not sure about your time zone, but if you reach us at support@codicesoftware.com, we can arrange a meeting to take a look with you.

Regards,

Carlos.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 8 months later...

I'm back with the same set of issues.

Twice in the past week, I have tried to merge where the "source" and "workstation" versions were not in conflict and both times, after the merge had been generated, I got error messages that prevented me from comitting them.  The first time, I got an error that my merge had to include the link - even though I had the link selected.  The second time, I got an error that a file was duplicated, if I try to uncheck the file, I get an error that I have to process all the files in the merge.  Undoing everything in the merge really is not an option for me.  I will probably end up manually copying the files out of the project, "undoing" and then copying them back in.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @NC3D, if you face any of these issues, could you open a ticket at support@codicesoftware.com? We will need to review the logs and we can even get connetced with you to debug the issue and find a workaround. It's difficlut for us to reproduce these issues so as much information as we can recover, it will be very helpful.

Sorry for the inconveniences,

Carlos.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1 year later...

One thing I wanted to drop into this thread since it's a hit that comes up in google: check to see if you have any files in your ignore/hidden.conf that aren't being shown. If they are, these files aren't being selected for checkin/undo changes, and the operation will fail.

On Pending Changes, there is an Options button. Under What To Show, you can select Show ignored and Show hidden. This can help dig yourself out of this hole.

I really do think the UI should handle this way better.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...