"replicate" one server to "another"

gonzzza

Hi! I am quite new to PlasticSCM so I'm asking your help with this probably easy task.

I have two servers, both currently have Enterprice 30 days trial license:

server1: Windows 7, PlasticSCM version 5.4.16.619 server, with PostgreSQL database backend
server2: Windows 7, PlasticSCM version 7.0.16.2937 server, with Jet database backend

I want to “replicate” completely all repositories from server1 to server2, so I can make changes to second server repositories and not worrying about breaking the first one.

Some repositories have XLink to others within same server.

Currently I have created workspaces on server2 client for each server1 repo, but I want to have ALL repositories on server2 aswell. Can you please point me where to look. Thanks a lot!  

Hi!

All you have to do is to create a sync view with all the repos on one server and the other, and launch the replicas. Then you'll replicate all repos from A to B.

Check this for more info: https://www.plasticscm.com/documentation/gui/plastic-scm-version-control-gui-guide#Chapter23:TheSynchronizationview

If I wasn't clear enough, please ask! 🙂

Thankyou! The sync view - that's what i was looking for. The problem is that sync always fails with the same error. 

Unable to write data to the transport connection: An existing connection was forcibly closed by remote host; xxx.xx.xxx.xxx:8087. An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host".

And the funny thing that when I try to sync from one repo - it says that connection was closed by other side. I try to replicate one server to another over VPN. Can this be a reason of disconnect?

Screen Shot 2019-02-04 at 22.50.47.png

Could you attach the "plastic.debug.log.txt" file? This error could be network related. Is it failing always at the same point? 

If you are trying to migrate the repos, you can also follow a different approach: migrate your repos to Jet and just copy the databases to the new server.