Diff against local files in working copy

Frederic

Hello,

I'm quite new to plastic scm and I'm not sure if I have simply overlooked the possibility to diff a changeset against the local workspace files. (Like the git "Compare with working tree" option in tortoisegit)

I've found the option to diff 2 revisions/changeset but I did not find any possibility to diff a revision/changeset against the local files in the graphical windows client. Is this really missing? Its quite cumbersome to get only specific changes (e.g. a few lines from specific file) from a changeset in another branch (or an older commit) with this possibility missing. Right now I have to make a local copy of the file I want to check against a local file via "Save revision as..." and do a manual diff.

Thanks & Regards

Frederic

Hi Carlos,

thanks for the reply. Yes you're right I can see this option. But I think I was not quite specific enough what my problem is.

There is a file that is changed in another branch (or was changed in an older changeset)

Later on that file got changed again (or I'm in a different branch)

Now I want to compare my (not yet modified but local file, therefore it does not show in pending changes) file with this old version and I want to take parts of changes to the file.

I can diff this file with the latest commited one (which I think is basically the same file) but I can not make changes in the local file as the diff tool seems to be in read only mode.

Regards

Frederic

Hi,

- If you want diff file revisions not involving your local changes, open the history view and select the specific revisions to run the diff. The diff panel won't be editable.

- If you want to diff any previous file revision (from any branch) with your current local workspace changes, please check my previous message. The diff panel is editable and you can perform changes directly from the diff view.