Tutorials and Options for Cloud/Remote Repositories?

Korindian

Hi,

I'm relatively new to version control systems, having briefly worked with Mercurial, Bitbucket and SourceTree. Since Bitbucket has size limits on its accounts now, I started looking into other solutions and found Plastic SCM. I really like the ease-of-use of the Plastic GUI... well done!

I'm currently developing games using Unity as a lone developer, but will soon be adding others to the team. I'm now in need of another place for a remote repository that can handle large sizes for game assets and code.

Here are my questions:

1) If I have a shared web-hosting account, would it be possible to install Plastic SCM on it? If so, are there any easy-to-follow tutorials on how to do this with username/password security?

2) Are there any good tutorials on how to set up a remote repository on a Google Cloud Compute Engine or Microsoft Azure services? I did see this article for setting up Plastic SCM with an Amazon EC2 instance, but saw another thread here indicating some people got stuck following it. Is there an official Plastic SCM tutorial?

3) I read in this post from 2013 that Codice is planning on offering some sort of solution themselves. Is this still happening, and is there a timeframe?

Basically, I'm looking for an idiot-proof guide on how to create a remote repository, as well as free or low-cost options for hosting it. It was easy to set up Mercurial with Bitbucket and SourceTree using the many guides available online. However, I'm not able to find the same types of resources for Plastic, and would very much appreciate being pointed in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Korindian,

1) Setting up Plastic is pretty easy, I have my own Plastic SCM server on a raspberry pi at home so you can do the same with any bigger machine.... If you have a shared web hosting machine you can use it to install Plastic and expose the 8087 or 8088 port.