Can I keep local database of my repository?

Antonis Savvidis

I'm still rather new with Plastic but it seems lovely! So forgive me if that's somehow too obvious but I missed it.

Imagine this git example:

1. New git repository (local)

2. I add a file

3. I commit this

4. I remove that file

5. I commit this

The file is hidden in the .git folder existing at the same place, however in Plastic's case it doesn't as it keeps a central database in it's installation folder.

In git's case I can move that folder to another PC or keep it as a backup on a hard drive/blueray and not lose the repository.

How can I have that old-school safety with Plastic?

1. How do I know which rep is which?

Please run the fullowing command to match the repo name with the folder id:

cm lrep --format=TABLE

2. What if I move a rep folder, will I be able to change it's number when I bring it back to this or other system so it's automatically seen as another repo?

You can change the number and then link the database to the new server using the following command:

cm addrep --help

Please let us know if it helps.

Regards,

Carlos.

Can you give an example of cm addrep?

In a local scenario, if "C:\Program Files\PlasticSCM5\server\jet\rep_x" is moved to "F:\Repos\rep_x"

What's the command to link it up?

cm repository add rep_x myname local ?

cm repository add F:\Repos\test\rep_4 another local
There has been an unexpected error "Invalid directory name: 'F:\Repos\test\rep_4'. It must start with 'rep_'". For more information check the server log.

I tried copying rep_4 to another folder, then tried to add it as "mynewtest" but it failed.

So, I renamed the folder to rep_6 and tried to run the command again. It still failed.

C:\Docs\test>cm repository add rep_4 mynewtest local
There has been an unexpected error "Repository with ID 4 already exists.". For more information check the server log.

C:\Docs\test>cm repository add rep_6 mynewtest local