Jump to content

Disable auto checkout on writable files when updating workspace


Recommended Posts

Hello,

We have a big issue for our workflow. Regularly, we set a file as writable because of some testing or whatever. Our issue is that when a file is mark as Writable and we update our workspace, evey writable files will be automatically checked-out. So even we do some stuff that doesn't need to be push and will be revert, we block everyone else that wanted to work on those specific file. 

Is there a way to setup plastic so it won't continue to automatically checkout writable files ?

Thanks,

Thierry
 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Carlos,

Indeed, I forget to explain our situation.

We are working on Unreal Engine, so all binaries are added in the lock rules via the cloud interface. So this issue only concerne benaries files.
So when we change something in Unreal, it asks us if we want to checkout the file or if we want to make it writable. If we do so, as long as we don't update the workspace, the status of that file in plastic client is "changed" and it is not lock for other users. But as soon as we update the workspace, the status change to Checked-out and it's lock for everyone.

What I want is to let that file as writable/change without it being locked, except if we manually checkout it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi,

In a regular workflow, updating the workspace doesn't checkout the changed items in you workspace.

Are the items that are being checked-out the same items downlaoded during the update operation or it happens to all the changed items?

If you update via the Plastic GUI, do you see a similar behavior?

Regards,

Carlos.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

well, if it's not normal this is very strange as I don't think we have an atypical workflow. 

It happens to all changed items.

We only use Plastic SCM software. Nobody use Gluon. The only thing that we are doing from Unreal Editor directly is checking out items when we start editing them (or choose to made them Writable).

Best,

Thierry

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...

Hi @calbzam

We are experiencing the same issue and it's hurting our workflow quite a lot.
If we edit any file (even text files) and then update our workspace using the green button in the top-right corner, Plastic will automatically check-out any change we made, even if the file wasn't changed in any of the new changesets.
Furthermore there is no option in the GUI to unlock the file without undoing the changes.
I've attached a video showing the issue in a small test repo.
Version is 10.0.16.6656

Kind regards
Wouter

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi @Wouter, the thing is:

- The Incoming Changes view needs to check-out all the items during the update because it's internally calculating the merge conflicts between the files to be downloaded and the locally changed files.

- If you use the Update button in the "Workspace Explorer" view instead, I think you can achive what you want.

Regards,

Carlos.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...