First Impressions

Xarbrough

First, thank you for providing us with the revamped GUI! :)

My name is Chris, I'm a programmer at Nementic, a game studio based in Munich. We use Plastic SCM and Gluon to version control our Unity projects with 10 users.

Things I like

• Tabs are now only on the left and fixed, this is perfect, since moving tabs around wasn't really helpful and sometimes was confusing.
  • Switching between dark and light themes is awesome!
  • The new overall style seems coherent and fits Unity's style well, which I personally enjoy.
  • The branch explorer smooth zooming is nice and overall rendering looks good.
  • The top right burger menu (for theme switching), preferences and user account display is great.
  • Overall, the UI looks a little cleaner, which is a good thing as long as all needed options are still present (or will be re-added later, for that matter).
  • The "Switch workspace..." button now opens a separate window that displays more information about workspaces and repos, that's useful.

Things I'm missing

• In the Branch Explorer, the option to color changesets by user.
  • In the Branch Explorer, the option to show full branch names and hide the "main" prefix.
  • The keyboard shortcuts to switch between tabs are missing (CTRL+1 for workspace, CTRL+2 for pending changes and so on).

Things I dislike

• Syntax highlighting of C# scripts looks like it wasn't yet correctly implemented in the dark theme.
  • The bottom blue bar in the main window draws too much attention. The "Ready" text seems like noise to me. I understand it might be a place to display info such as "loading" or even notifications like "server maintenance expected on x" but I feel like status messages should be subtle (not bright blue) and notifications deserve a button in the header bar (e.g. bell symbol next to the user name, close the preferences), that when clicked, shows a popup with notification messages, that can be dismissed.