Community Edition - Loss of Features - Migration?

SilverKnight

I just saw the announcement on the switch from Community Edition to Team Edition, and had a few questions (well, maybe a lot of questions).

I've been using Community edition for ~2 years, and have the following configuration that seems to now be a problem with this transition (I would be pretty surprised if this wasn't a problem for a lot of small shops due to MSDN making these easily available to developers):

• Microsoft SQL Server back end.
  • LDAP integration to AD domain for user account authentication

What is the expected transition here for others in this situation? (Will all of this migration be automatic when installing the new license, or does this mean reinstall/reconfiguration of the server.) 

Is there a specific version of the server that I need to be aware of NOT supporting the current CE license I already have installed?

(If I'm going to have to re-install, I might as well evaluate an update from 5.0.44.x to a newer version) I understand I can stick with the same version and keep it free, I just don't see that as a viable option considering bug fixes only come in new releases, not patches to existing versions.

In looking at the web site, I note that CE states "Free for OSS and Non profit only" - I'm guessing that the reason we have to write to support is that there is some sort of transition of the license/account that must take place for existing community edition users wishing to continue to use the product and receive updates.  Is this correct?

I didn't see a clear answer to what wvd_vegt posted here :that there is no longer a free version for small for-profit outfits and contacting support is really to get people to switch to Team edition.

What information does support need in order to find the correct account to get this process rolling - assuming the answer to the above question is "YES"? [i'm not doing OSS and not a non-profit dev shop, so I'm crossing my fingers here]