Move data base files to a different location

I'm new to this. I'm trying to move the databases (repositories) from the default location to something like "C:\plastic".

I shut down the service.

I found some instructions, and created a db.conf file in the installation folder (C:\program files\plasticscm\server .

The file has:

<DbConfig>

<ProviderName>firebird</ProviderName>

<DatabasePath>c:\Plastic</DatabasePath>

</DbConfig>

in it.

I then moved the three files that were in the installation folder

repositories.plastic.fdb, rep_3.plastic.fdb, and rep_1.plastic.fdb

This is all on my computer (not a server).

I turned on the service. When I started the plasticscm program, I got the error message that it could not find the repository that I had created. It acted like there was something wrong with thedb.conf file. When I moved everything back to its original location, it all worked.

What am I doing wrong.

Thanks,

Neal

Sorry,

I was wrong. It did not work. I installed the firebird software. I then created the db.conf file. I created a folder C:\plastic and copied the db files from c:\program files\plasticscm\server into the folder. The db.conf file is:

<DbConfig>

<ConnectionString>ServerType=0;User=SYSDBA; Password=masterkey;Database={0};Pooling=true; connection lifetime=60;Charset=UNICODE_FSS; </ConnectionString>

<DatabasePath>c:\plastic</DatabasePath>

</DbConfig>

The connectionstring is a single line.

I then rebooted the computer (restarting the service) and the plasticscm re-created the data base files in c:\program files\plasticscm\server.

It acts like it is not dealing with the db.conf file.

I should add that the workspace that I defind was still there when I rebooted the computer (I don't know where that is located).

Neal

Are you using embedded Firebird (ServerType=1) or installed Firebird (ServerType=0), then?

I suppose that the db.conf file is placed in c:\program files\plasticscm\server, isn't it?

Best,

Luis