Blue Lock and no Check Out option

First off, I'd like to say that I'm new to PlasticSCM.

I've added a solution to source control, but I'm unable to build the solution or check it out due to the missing "Check Out" option and the read-only status of the directories. I've followed the VS integration guide to the letter.

I can check out individual files, but not the solution or any project inside. The blue lock is giving me a headache, and there's no option to simply check out a solution or a project on the menu. For those types of files, all I get is a refresh on the PlasticSCM context menu.

A similar problem exists within the Plastic SCM client. The check out option is grayed for all directories, even though it is available for files.

I understand why files are marked as read-only, but why are directories being set as such? How can I resolve this issue? While I'm waiting on a response, I'm going to try out a previous version.

I opted to use the Modify-Commit methodology as opposed to the Checkout-Modify-Checkin methodology and that removes the read-only option for you. If you don't "need" the checkout first methodology that might be the fastest way for you to get this resolved:

http://plasticscm.com/releases/3.0.1/manuals-html/en/userguide.htm#_Toc280187958

Otherwise, as far as I know the blue lock remains and just indicates that the file is under source control.

Thanks for the replies.

@CodingGorilla:

I can check out the solution or project files using the Plastic SCM client, but not using the VS plugin. If, however, I modify project or solution settings, the project/solution file is checked out and updated.