Versioned files suddenly appear 'private' in Pending changes view - v5.4.16.663

wnicholls

This is somewhat astonishing and I'm not sure how to explain it - but it looks VERY serious.  Behaviour started fairly promptly with upgrade to v5.4.  Windows client, current version v5.4.16.663 server whatever was current at the same time.

I have a workspace I've been using for several years. There are a few unversioned files in it but most folders contain items under source control.  Is a Visual Studio 2012 project with some additional folders (such as SQL/, Docs/  .. )

All  of a sudden it seems - although not exactly in front of my eyes, the Pending Changes view is showing *ALL* files as 'Added an private"  - ie no longer under version control.  But if I go into Changesets view I can see my recent history and Diff changeset (Ctrl-D) works as expect showing the files getting, well, changed.

The pending changes view shows "Added and private items - 0 of 321 items selected"  - screenshot  - I wonder if this will come through? (didn't. try attached JPEG)

(There are actually 1342 files in this subdirectory, so presumably all bin/ debug/ and .bak and so forth are being excluded as per the ignores file, I haven't double-checked this).

In desperation this morning I tried renaming /source to /source_old,  creating a new workspace in /source,  checking out everything (ie Update Workspace).  Then I xcopy-ed all the files (except .plastic folder) back over from source_old to ensure I had my latest changes and was able to check in.   (this reset all the timestamps, but underlying Ctrl-D showed that unchanged files were unchanged).

Guess what - about 6 hours later, I come back to Plastic GUI and it's back to everything unversioned again. 

Now I basically can't trust Plastic - which is a terrible place to be .  Looks like a whopping bug in the GUI or something which corrupts workspaces.

Any suggestions?