Local Network replication (or proxy?) server with cloud

Alexandre Fiset

Hi,

I'm new to PlasticSCM Cloud Edition (coming from Perforce).

Our goal is to setup a distributed version control system where the admin is "allowed" to create a local network server that replicates data to and from the cloud.

Users should be able to sync with the local network repo instead of the cloud. They should also be able to sync their own local repo directly with the cloud.

We want to avoid the situation where we setup a build machine, get the /main and have it all downloaded from the cloud. Our latest project was ~40 gb in size, so doing so each time and for each file sent by one of the 8 team members is a bit overkill, most of the time. For these cases, we would prefer to have a replication in our studio to connect to and benefit from the speed of our local network.

Is this doable? I've been searching and trying for two days now without success (Clients are Windows, LAN server is Ubuntu 12.04). I always end up with errors such as:

• The client authentification mode (LDAPWorkingMode) doesn't match the server authentification (UPWorkingMode).
  • The same error as above, but inversed when trying to connect to the cloud with a client setup as UPWorkingMode (all regardless of the Profiles I have setup).
  • Explicit transaction expected, but found no transaction.
  • FATAL Daemon - Access to path /home/parabole/FB_1236665269.dll" is denied.

Also, it seems like Proxy require an Enterprise account. Is there another way to reduce the amount of data we have to load from the cloud?

Cheers!

• 1 year later...

I was hoping there would have been an answer to this. We basically have the same situation where we have a cloud account we would like to replicate locally or cache common requests. Due to some crossed-wires I got the Plastic SCM proxy server running before realizing it only works with the Enterprise client.