Can't unlock files on Cloud

bcrickcwru

Hi!

I'm new to PlasticSCM and am setting up a new repository on the cloud service. I'm a developer using the PlasticSCM client proper, which is working fine... but when I set up Gluon for our artist, I'm getting weird errors. Several hundred files appear to be locked and checked out to the artist. The Check In option isn't available. And when we try Check Out, there's an error message saying "These items are exclusively checked out by [artist name]."

Is there anyway to reset the checkouts on these files?

Thanks,

Brian

Hi Brian,

yes, first you need to be the repository server owner. Open a regular Plastic SCM client, repositories, right click in any of them and select "Repository server permissions" then change the owner to yourself.

Now from the command line you can use the "cm unlock" command in order to remove the pending locks.

Obviously there's an easier way to do it, from the machine having the locks open the Plastic SCM GUI and undo them all. The lock will be released.

• 2 years later...
  • 2 years later...

Hi,

Please understand this is not the regular workflow.

The way to abandon locks is:

• You checkout 100 files (probably not a common thing to do, anyway).
  • Then you delete your workspace.
  • Then your locks are lost.

I would say, based on all our other customers, that abandoning a workspace with locks in it is not a common thing to do. Of course it can happen, and yes, of course we can have a better interface for handling that, but we consider this a rather corner case, otherwise we'd be running into it every single day, and fortunately we do not.

This is quite literally the worst source control product I've ever used.

We are here to try to make our customers happy. If you really think Plastic is the worse version control you ever used, then my recommendation is: "please stop using it". I prefer that you are happy using a competitor than unhappy using us.

• 1 year later...

Hi,